Kansas City Hotels & Camping Grounds

From camping to luxury hotels, Kansas City has accommodations to suit everyone

Kansas City, Missouri, is home to scores of art galleries, several theaters and the Kansas City Zoo. It is famous for its barbecue establishments. Jesse James lived nearby and the city is the birthplace of Hallmark cards. Accommodation options in Kansas City range from mid-range and luxury hotels to a number of campgrounds and RV sites for those who like to enjoy the great outdoors.

Mid-Range Hotels

Visitors to Kansas City who want unfussy accommodations for a medium budget have a handful of options available. The Kansas City Comfort Inn (comfortinn.com) is close to the heart of things in the city, conveniently located near the Schlitterbahn Vacation Village water park (schlitterbahn.com/kc), the Legends Mall (legendsshopping.com) for its restaurants, shopping and entertainment, and the Worlds of Fun amusement park (worldsoffun.com). The Candlewood Suites Kansas City hotel (candlewoodsuites.com) is in the same area and price range as the Comfort Inn. The Hampton Inn Shawnee (hamptoninn.hilton.com) is in the Shawnee area, close to the Woodlands Dog Track (woodlandskc.com), and the Oak Park Mall (thenewoakparkmall.com) is less than a 20-minute drive to the Kansas City center.

High Budget Hotels

For visitors to Kansas City who want to stay in more luxurious accommodations, the city has a good selection of four- and five-star hotels. The Westin Crown Center (starwoodhotels.com/westin) is centrally located in the Hallmark Crown Center (crowncenter.com) with its 85 acres of shops, restaurants and theaters. The InterContinental Kansas City at The Plaza (kansascityic.com) is close to the Country Club Plaza (countryclubplaza.com) and its restaurants, shops and museums. Hotel Phillips (hotelphillips.com) is an art deco boutique hotel just a couple of blocks from the Folly Theater (follytheater.org) and the Kansas City Convention Center (kcconvention.com).

RV Sites

The Worlds of Fun amusement park has an RV site on the premises, which is ideal for families who will enjoy the entertainment offered there. Longview Lake RV site (no website; 22401 SW Woods Chapel Road, Blue Springs; 816-503-4800) is a 25-minute drive from Kansas City center and has a number of recreational facilities on-site, including a lake for fishing and boating, golf and a playground. Trailside RV Park (trvpark.com) in Grain Valley is a 30-minute drive from Kansas City center and is close to Burr Oak Woods Conservation area (mdc.mo.gov) and Lake Tapawingo (laketapawingomo.org).

Camping Sites

Many camping grounds in and around the Kansas City area also have RV parking areas. Cottonwood Camping (cottonwoodcamping.com) is 20 minutes from the city center; nearby attractions include the Sandstone Amphitheater (sandstoneamp.com), T-Bones Baseball (tbonesbaseball.com) and the Kansas Speedway (kansasspeedway.com). The Basswood Resort (basswoodresort.com) is an RV park and camping ground about 30 minutes from the city center, that has a splash playground, a super play structure for kids, fishing lakes and walking trails. Local attractions include Kansas City Zoo (kansascityzoo.org) and the Harley Davidson Museum (harley-davidson.com).

The Kansas City East KOA campsite (koa.com) is also a 30-minute drive from the city center. The 20-acre wooded campground is suitable for pitching tents and parking RVs. It is close to the Trailside RV park and its nearby attractions.